I recently stumbled upon the reading habits tag when scrolling through Pinterest and I decided to give it a go. The tag was created by The Book Jazz on YouTube.

Do you have a certain place at home for reading?
I usually read wherever I am the comfiest, which tends to be either in a hot bath (whilst using a lush bath bomb, preferably), on my bed or curled up on the couch.

Bookmark or random piece of paper?

A bookmark is always better than using just a random piece of paper. I will just use one of the bookmarks out of the many bookmarks that I own and keep on top of my bookshelf. although, anything has the potential to be a bookmark if you’re in great enough need.

Can you just stop reading or do you have to stop after a chapter/ certain amount of pages?

I can’t just stop reading mid-sentence or mid-paragraph but I don’t have to keep reading until the end of the chapter before I stop reading. When I decide that I have finished reading or need to take a break , I will always make sure that I finish the paragraph/ page that I am currently reading before I stop.

Do you eat or drink while reading?

I don’t mind having a hot drink whilst reading, like a cup of tea or a hot chocolate but I can’t eat whilst reading. This is mostly due to fear of getting food on the pages because I can definitely be too clumsy for my own good sometimes and ruining a book seems like such a waste of a good book.

Music or TV while reading?

Music is a great way to block out excess noise, while still being able to concentrate on the book that I’m reading. I find that if the TV is on in the background when I’m trying to read, I tend to find it too hard to concentrate on the book, which is why I find it better not to watch TV while i read.

One book at a time or several at once?

I have always had a tendency to have multiple books on the go at once and am always on the lookout for recommendations for new books to try. I’m always open for suggestions.

Reading at home or everywhere?

When it comes to where I read, I’m not really all that picky as long as I’m comfortable and able to concentrate on the book. If I’m really enjoying the book, I will honestly read ANYWHERE.

Reading aloud or silently in your head?

Definitely in my head! How anyone can read aloud every time they read is beyond me. It’d be like reading aloud in school but every time you read. It just doesn’t make any sense to me if I’m being completely honest.

Do you read ahead or skip pages?

I will occasionally glance at the last page of the book while I’m reading. I try to stick with with the story without looking ahead as much as possible as it’ll only end up ruining any twists for me but very often, curiosity seems to get better of me.

Break the spine or keep it like new?

I have to keep it like new as much as possible, obviously it’s not always possible to keep every book you own looking like new.

Do you write in books?

No, if want to make notes about a book then I’ll write it in a notebook. I don’t see the need for writing inside a book. To me, it feels like you’re ruining it. I can’t write in a book without getting a slight feeling of guilt for doing it.

The questions:

Do you have a certain place at home for reading? Bookmark or random piece of paper? | Can you just stop reading or  do you have to stop after a chapter / certain amount of pages? | Do you eat or drink while reading? | Music or TV while reading? One book at a time or several at once? Reading at home or everywhere? | Reading aloud or silently in your head? Do you read ahead or skip pages?  |  Break the spine or keep it like new? | Do you write in your books? Who do you tag? 


Leave a Reply

